This guide will explain to you how to delete a WordPress blog or site permanently and completely, to delete your WordPress account you can read our guide. Although it is not difficult and takes only 30 minutes, it is different than abandoning your website. Hackers could still access your site even if you’ve stopped managing it. Hackers could gain access to your site, and you don’t want to do that.
There are many other reasons to delete your WordPress website permanently. It may be that you want to distance yourself completely from the content you have published. You may be unhappy with your business’s reputation and want to erase everything. You might also want to know how to delete a WordPress blog by merging it with another blog. Whatever the reason is, you don’t want your abandoned website hanging around on the internet for no good reason. Moreover, you can find an article on our website if you are interested in knowing how to duplicate a page or post in WordPress.
While blogging is fun, there are moments when you want to end. One of our users recently asked about the option of deleting their WordPress blog. We’ll show you how to remove your WordPress blog securely and what precautions you should take. Let’s start!
How to Delete a WordPress Blog
Before we begin, it’s crucial to understand that WordPress blogs categories. These are divided into two categories.
- The first and most popular option is to use a self-hosted WordPress.org site.
- The second type is WordPress.com hosted blog.
So because the method for deleting your website varies depending on whether it’s a WordPress.com or WordPress.org site, let’s start by defining the differences:
Comparison between WordPress.com VS WordPress.org
WordPress.org, often known as self-hosted WordPress, is a website where you may download and install the free WordPress software on your server. You are entirely responsible for hosting and maintenance of a WordPress.org website.
WordPress.com will host your site for you. Instead of downloading and installing WordPress, go to WordPress.com, click Get started, fill out a few forms, and WordPress.com will build a website for you.
How do I Permanently Delete a WordPress.com site?
Fortunately, WordPress.com provides support to help you restore your site if you remove it by accident or change your mind. However, keep in mind that this option is only available for 30 days after the site has been deleted. Otherwise, your website will vanish. To remove your WordPress.com website entirely and permanently, follow the procedures below.
No matter how sure you are to delete your website, you should always backup in case you change your mind later. If you ever need to restore your website, this backup will come in helpful. Unfortunately, on WordPress.com, there is no single button that will download all of your data. Instead, you’ll have to manually backup your WordPress.com site under the Tools » Export section of your dashboard.
Only your posts, pages, categories, tags, and comments are exported when you choose the all content export button. Your media files and uploads will not be backed up. You’ll have to go to Media and manually download all of your files. Another process to backup your site is that Backups can be found in your site’s dashboard as part of the Activity Log. So now you need to login to your wordpress.com site and navigate to the My site, and on the left sidebar, you can see the jetpack and click on Activity Log. Once you click on the activity log, then you will see the Backup option.
Delete a WordPress.com Site
Once you backup the site is completed, return to the dashboard, navigate to the My site, and click on Settings.
In settings, choose General Settings and scroll to the bottom to find the Detele your Site Permanently.
It will bring up a popup window asking you to confirm that you have exported your data. It will also inform you that removing your site will lose all data and the ability to use it.
If your account has multiple websites, double-check that the correct site address is indicated in the yellow alert box.
Once you confirm the site and enter the site’s address into the provided field, click on Delete This Site button. After clicking on the delete button, your site is no longer available.
Anyone trying to visit your site at this moment will receive a message indicating that it is no longer available and has been erased by the authors.
Deleting a Site with Upgrades
During the deleting procedure, you may receive the following message: This indicates that your website has purchased improvements. You must first erase them before you can delete your site. You won’t lose access to your paid enhancements if you do this.
To go to the Purchases page, click the Purchases button. Then, use the links on that page to Cancel Your Upgrades or contact support for assistance in transferring them to another site on your account.
You can also contact WordPress support for assistance if you are unable to cancel any of the upgrades. After you’ve deleted your upgrades from the site, start over the process that is mentioned above.
How to Delete a WordPress.org (or self-hosted) Website
While deleting a site permanently is simple, tiny details may vary according to host interfaces and tools. As a result, don’t be concerned if my screenshots differ significantly from yours. What matters is that you take the following steps:
- Create a backup data
- Delete the site files
- Delete the site database
Create a backup data
Why would someone create a backup of a site before permanently eliminating it? Although it isn’t a requirement, you never know when you’ll need a copy. If you need some site materials in the future, having a site backup is essential. Creating a site copy and saving it to your computer’s hard drive takes only ten minutes. Fortunately, several backup plugins are available for free, so there’s no reason to miss this step.
Delete WordPress site Files
The majority of web hosting companies allow users to make changes to their site’s files. For example, the File Manager application is a web-based tool for managing site assets. Find the File Manager icon on the webserver panel. Fill in the credentials by clicking on it and press Ctrl+A to selects all the files and deletes them.
File Manager isn’t the only option. For example, you can use a client that supports the file transfer protocol (FTP) or the secure file transfer protocol (SFTP). Working with such tools can be difficult for inexperienced users, but it’s relatively simple if you have all of the necessary credentials.
The hostname, FTP username, and FTP password are most likely included in the first emails from your web host. This information should be in your inbox. If you can’t discover them, contact the site host’s customer service.
Delete the site database
First, you need to log in to the Cpanel, go to the dashboard, scroll down to the databases section and click on the MySql Database.
Now a new window appears, and you find the Database you want to delete. After selecting the Database, go ahead and click on the Delete Database button. Next, you’ll be asked to confirm the deletion of the selected Database and then make sure you are deleting the correct Database and click Delete Database. That’s it! The Database is deleted successfully.
In this short article, I taught you how to delete a WordPress blog or site, whether the site is on WordPress.com or WordPress.org website permanently and how to erase your site’s MySQL database if you want to.
Are you planning on removing an old WordPress site and starting over? If you’re starting from scratch with WordPress, be sure to check out some of our other WordPress offline website-building tutorials, as they’ll give you everything you need to make a contemporary, professional, and entertaining website. You can learn from offline development and practice whatever you want. If you have any questions related to how to delete a WordPress blog, then comments Us below.